Monday, February 11, 2013

Congrats to our sister Chris Parrish in Thomasville

We were so excited to read this Facebook post on Britney's page:  "Congratulations to my Mom for getting teacher of the year!!! Woo hoo so proud!! — with Chris Taylor Parrish."
Both Britney and Chris are Beta Sigma sisters who graduated from University of Georgia.

We are so happy for you Chris and am glad they recognized your hard work!

February 1, 2013

Rick Perkins finalists announced


THOMASVILLE — Three faculty members at Southwest Georgia Technical College (now Southern Regional Technical College) have been selected as finalists for the Rick Perkins Award

These finalists include Heidi Bivins (Anatomy & Physiology), Glenda Hatcher (Medical Assisting), and Chris Parrish (Business Administrative Technology).

The Rick Perkins Award for Excellence in Technical Instruction honors technical education’s most outstanding instructors. Instructors are nominated by their peers and students, and those instructors with the most nominations were selected as finalists.

“Our Rick Perkins Award nominees represent excellence in instruction at Southwest Georgia Technical College. These three instructors have been nominated by their colleagues, one of the highest honors that a faculty member can receive from their peers. I wish our three instructors good luck in the upcoming competition for Instructor of the Year and know that they will do well as they exemplify teaching excellence, innovation, and leadership,” Dr. Craig Wentworth, SWGTC President.

This award has been an ongoing, statewide event since 1991 and is designed to recognize technical college instructors who make significant contributions to technical education through innovation and leadership in their fields.

Formerly known as the Commissioner’s Award of Excellence, the Rick Perkins Award was renamed in memory and honor of Thomas “Rick” Perkins, an instructor at West Central Technical College, now West Georgia Technical College, who received the Commissioner’s Award of Excellence prior to his untimely death.

To become the state Rick Perkins Award winner, nominees go through three phases of selection: the local technical college level, the regional level, and the state level.

The state Rick Perkins Award winner serves as an ambassador for technical education in Georgia and must have made significant contributions to technical education through innovation and leadership in his or her field of instruction.

The winner must also exemplify excellence and a commitment to the mission of the Technical College System of Georgia (TCSG). The statewide winner, who will be announced at a ceremony in Atlanta, Georgia, will carry the title of the Technical College System of Georgia Instructor of the Year.

The SWGTC Rick Perkins finalists have already competed in interviews. This SWGTC winner will represent the college at the regional competition to be hosted at Moultrie Technical College (Tifton Campus) on Feb.  28.

All regional winners will compete for the TCSG Instructor of the Year title and will be announced on April 25 at the GOAL and Rick Perkins Award Ceremony.

Southwest Georgia Technical College is a unit of the Technical College System of Georgia.

No comments:

Post a Comment